top of page
  • Writer's pictureSydney Elizabeth Chandler

House of Bones

I miss it.

I feel it in my throat where it

tightens. My chest is an ocean. My

ribs that of a whale’s.

Inside there are bones in the

sand. I am sifting below in the dark

with no air. I make a home,

breathless and unaware of the

world above me. I scuttle into my

house of bones alone. I eat at dead

fish and pray to a god that wears shark

teeth over its eyes, for it is

dark in the belly of the earth. Teeth

are more truthful than sight in the

black. I die and I live again and

still, I miss it. Under the weight of

water, the dark is a light, and I

hold onto this truth.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fractures

Pick-pocket change and a trail of dust –– licked clean; huffed deep; a rolled-up tenner in hand –– She tells you she had to put the dog down.He was screaming. No one listened. Father asked what was fo

La Quinta

So delicate, the mountains stand, like paper-mache experiments sculpted by a shaking hand, no, perhaps a thoughtful hand, one set with the intent of chaos. A moon landing, situated atop this plastic g

The Fall

They stand tall in the thousands. Momentous in their tear-shape patchworks. Each attached to the tree limb by one thin strand, one so fragile as a string tied to a kite in a summer storm. And yet, her

bottom of page